My Questions about Vintage Clothing. Help Me Out!

I’m pretty new to vintage and really just new to having nice things. So I still have questions, and if you have any of the answers please help me out!

  • How do you pack your clothes when you travel? I’m about to go home for Christmas and I’m used to just rolling my clothes and stuffing them in my suitcase but I certainly don’t want to treat my nice vintage clothes that way. 
  • Are stockings uncomfortable? What I’m most concerned about is thigh rub – like many women, my thighs touch each other and rub together when I walk. This can lead to some really uncomfortable chafing if it’s hot or you walk a lot. I also just don’t necessarily enjoy the feeling of my legs rubbing, so I usually wear tights or pants. I want to try out stockings – specifically I’d like to get a girdle, and those require stockings – but I’m concerned about this issue. Any insight?
  • Not clothing exactly, but where do you find out about vintage events? I don’t know any other vintage lovers but I would like to, and I know there have to be a ton in LA.
  • Where do you find a petticoat that doesn’t go above the knee (what’s up with that?) and doesn’t cost a satchel full of gold?
  • Can you wear swing dance shoes outside? I feel like the only cute shoes I can find are swing dance shoes and I want to wear them!!

If you have an answer to any of these questions, I would very much appreciate it! I’m sure I will post more questions as they come up. Let’s make this a two-way street!

7 thoughts on “My Questions about Vintage Clothing. Help Me Out!

  1. Hi dear gal, I’ll take a stab at answering your queries and hope my replies can help you out.

    How do you pack your clothes when you travel? I’m about to go home for Christmas and I’m used to just rolling my clothes and stuffing them in my suitcase but I certainly don’t want to treat my nice vintage clothes that way.

    -I layer clothes as flat a possible, sometimes placing especially delicate garments (i.e, a vintage silk blouse) inside of other sturdier (but still soft, so there’s no risk of one garment damaging another) ones. I put my shoes and anything that might be “pokey” around the outer perimeters of the suitcase with the heels towards the walls (unless there’s a risk they could poke through, in which case I put them facing the other way). I layer from heaviest to lightest (i.e., vintage jeans and heavy weight dresses on the bottom, then blouses and lighter dresses and skirts, then scarves, undergarments, etc), and pack tightly, but not absurdly so (you don’t want to risk having your bag split open from over-stuffing.

    Are stockings uncomfortable? What I’m most concerned about is thigh rub – like many women, my thighs touch each other and rub together when I walk. This can lead to some really uncomfortable chafing if it’s hot or you walk a lot. I also just don’t necessarily enjoy the feeling of my legs rubbing, so I usually wear tights or pants. I want to try out stockings – specifically I’d like to get a girdle, and those require stockings – but I’m concerned about this issue. Any insight?

    I wear stockings with a garter or (very, very light) girdle with garters on it most of the time. I find them incredibly comfortable, so long as your belt/girdle is comfy itself. If you want the look of vintage stockings without garters, you can buy nylons that have seams and even Cuban heels in some cases. I’ve bought various pairs over the years (new) on eBay for as a little as a few dollars each (search for keywords such as “black and nude seamed nylons”).

    Not clothing exactly, but where do you find out about vintage events? I don’t know any other vintage lovers but I would like to, and I know there have to be a ton in LA.

    I’m afraid that I can’t help you terribly in this regard, as we live in different countries and there are zero (save for car shows) vintage events around my small town. In general though, you can try checking on sites like Meetup.com and Fedora Lounge (I’m not a member, just a longtime lurker there), as well as local stores and venues (i.e., jazz music or swing dance clubs) that pertain to vintage for events and meetups that might be happening in your area.

    Where do you find a petticoat that doesn’t go above the knee (what’s up with that?) and doesn’t cost a satchel full of gold?

    There are a number of sources, but one of my very favourites is the website http://www.pettiskirtstyle.com (I’ve bought about five below-the-knee pettiskirts from them and love all of them!).

    Can you wear swing dance shoes outside? I feel like the only cute shoes I can find are swing dance shoes and I want to wear them!!

    Generally speaking, yes. If you only plan on wearing them outside, you might want to visit a cobbler and have the soles reinforced or altered in some way to make them even better suited to life on the streets (so to speak), but usually so long as a shoe has a solid sole (rubber, plastic, wood, leather, etc), you can easily wear it outside like any other pair of shoes.

    Happy traveling this holiday season – and of course, happy vintage wearing, too! 🙂

    ♥ Jessica

      • Awwww, you’re the sweetest. You’re very welcome, it was my absolute pleasure, Erika. Us vintage loving gals always need to stick together and share our know-how with one another whenever possible. Always feel free to ask me anything vintage related you’d like.

        ♥ Jessica

  2. Great answers by Jessica! I have found, in my area at least, all the vintage-y events seem to stem from the swing dance community and the Fedora Lounge occasionally has it’s Australian members organise an event…so my guess is people from all over would do the same.

    In regards to the petticoat I am actually making one for my daughter as they were all outrageously priced and I am using this tutorial – http://sugardale.blogspot.com.au/2008/08/how-to-make-petticoat.html – but I am doing a tulle one for her and I plan to make one for myself after xmas in the nylon fabric she uses.

  3. Hi there!! I figured I’d throw in my two cents on the matter as well. 🙂

    Q: How do you pack your clothes when you travel?
    A: I choose clothes that do not wrinkle easy, then fold them gently into my suitcase. Additionally, I use a vintage suitcase, which keeps pressure from the outside (since it’s hard) out, and my clothes don’t suffer any additional pressing in transit. Clothing that does get wrinkled can be hung while you take a hot shower and the steam will remove the wrinkles if you don’t feel like or are unable to iron.

    Q: Are stockings uncomfortable?
    A: I prefer stockings to tights or pantyhose for a number of reasons. However, when I travel I rarely wear stockings for a few reasons. When I fly garters show up on body scans, and result in partial or full body pat-downs (I know from personal experience). When I travel by car, I enjoy wearing pants. And when I travel by train, I will wear stockings, however it depends on the duration of the trip. Short trips are fine, however on longer trips, (three plus hours) stockings and garters can become uncomfortable for sitting for too long – after all, most garter belts or girdles have garter snaps on the back and you are sitting upon little bumps. If it is the seams you like regarding stockings, seamed pantyhose is available on-line, in specialty shops (including sex shops) and at Nordstorm.

    Q: Where do you find out about vintage events
    A:Often via Facebook. I “like” loads of vintage pages (vintage clothing shops, vintage reproduction clothing companies, vintage inspired make-up, retro bands, dance troops, neo-pin-up models, etc.), and they often post about events they will be vending at.

    Q: Where do you find a petticoat that doesn’t go above the knee (what’s up with that?) and doesn’t cost a satchel full of gold?
    A: There are some on-line. E-bay is a great source for find ’em cheap, just pay attention to the length. The best are in the 28 inch range or so.

    Q: Can you wear swing dance shoes outside?
    A: While you can, they may lose their easy twist and turn abilities because they’ll get roughed up outside. I would suggest purchasing a pair dedicated to dancing and a pair dedicated to travel.

    I hope I was of some help!!

    xoxo
    -Janey

    • Thank you so much! It never occurred to me that a vintage hard-sided suitcase would be better for storing nice clothes, but now it seems so obvious. Maybe I should get one! 😀 I feel like most vintage ladies prefer stockings and they’re just too tempting for me to not try! And an excuse to buy two pairs of swing dance shoes? Yes, please!

Leave a Reply

