My Retro Christmas Tree and a Very Important Warning

Check out my first-ever (as an adult) Christmas tree!

IMG_3197

By night it’s a Christmas tree. And by day it is…

IMG_3198

Also a Christmas tree! The tree itself isn’t retro – I bought it at Target for $40. But a lot of the ornaments are! About half of my ornaments look like this:

IMG_3260

All bunny-themed. For the last several years my aunt has given me a bunny-themed Christmas ornament taped to my Christmas present. She’s very sweet.

The other half of my ornaments were my grandma Elaine’s from right around 1950, when she got her first Christmas tree as an adult. When my mom cleaned out Elaine’s house after she died in 2007 she was just going to throw them away (my mom is an anti-hoarder and wonderfully unsentimental) but I requested that we keep them. They were among the few possessions I packed in my Toyota Corolla when I moved out here three years ago and now I finally get to use them!

IMG_3257

So fifties!

IMG_3258

IMG_3259

IMG_3261

I t hink this one is my favorite:

IMG_3262

Skiing Santa!

And now, time for a very important PSA. Ladies, get serious about throwing your makeup away. I haven’t ever been very diligent about it and this week I got a sty, which is an infection of one of the glands in your eyelid. Disgusting, right? And horrible timing, because I AM SHOOTING MY PILOT THIS WEEKEND. One of the biggest events of my career thus far and I have a swollen, red, gross-looking eye. I’m pretty sure I got it from some liquid eyeliner that I hadn’t used in a couple months, so it was probably too old for me to be using. Mascara and liquid eye liner are supposed to be thrown away after three months, and I assure you I will be doing that from now on. If you’re worried about the price, I’ll just tell you that my antibiotic cost $30 so you can spend $30 on an antibiotic ointment for your eye or on new makeup. I know this message is a jarring change of pace from the first half of the post, but I didn’t exactly want to write an entire post on my disgusting eye sty. There are some things you can do if you get a sty but really just don’t share your makeup, clean your brushes, and throw your shit away after three months. DO IT. Love ya!

2 thoughts on “My Retro Christmas Tree and a Very Important Warning

  1. Beautiful tree. Sorry to hear about the eye…my twins get stys all the time and we always use a hot facecloth pressed on it. It usually comes to a head then, ozes and starts to clear up. Not sure how bad your infection is but it might be worth a shot with your pilot. Hope it improves soon. Now I must throw out my mascara and buy more. You are right, it’s so not worth it.

    • Yeah I’ve been doing the hot washcloth four-five times a day (I guess it was a pretty bad infection – very deep under my eyelid) and today it actually does look quite a bit better, it was at its worst a couple days ago. But I wish I’d just thrown my makeup away more regularly and I’m definitely going to do it from now on!

Leave a Reply

