Today Is History Pilot Taping!

This weekend my show Today Is History shot its pilot. Today Is History is a satirical news show set on different days throughout history – essentially asking, what if the Daily Show had always existed? We shot two episodes to pitch as a pilot – our King Tutankhamun episode and our episode about the dedication of the Statue of Liberty. I’m the creator, producer, and co-host of the show, but we had a ton of amazing writers, actors, and crew members who made it happen.

 

We had an on-set photographer so we’ll have a lot more great photos but I wanted to share some of the ones I took this weekend. Our wardrobe was amazing – that’s why I went to the Hollywood costume warehouses that I wrote about a couple weeks ago – and we had a lot of authentic 1880’s clothes on set that I think you guys will love.

I had to go back to the costume warehouse to get an authentic 1880s French sailor’s hat. I got to walk through this hall of hats:

IMG_3248

IMG_3250

 

Turns out there was a whole box of them!

IMG_3289

 

I had to try it on.

I also saw a rack of “primitive” clothing at the wardrobe warehouse and had to take a picture of it:

IMG_3249

 

Aren’t those crazy?

Anyways, on to set!

IMG_3280

 

An Ancient Egyptian actor, of course.

IMG_3288

 

Two of our 1880’s actors wearing period clothing. Button suspenders!

IMG_3290

 

We shot in this house built in the 1800s – some of Six Feet Under was also shot here.

228246_226677470797736_672789574_n

 

IMG_3292

 

And our 1880s Congressmen. The set looked fantastic, and I learned how to tie a cravat! I’ll definitely post more pictures of the costumes once we get the set photos back, but I was so excited about this weekend that I couldn’t wait to share. I so hope our show gets picked up so we can make more episodes and continue to explore history!

Leave a Reply

