New Years and Some Serious Hair

Happy New Year!

27393879_7Hpbs2-1

 

Here’s my roommate and me!

27393879_7Hpbs2

 

And some pals. We look drunk, even though I am stone cold sober.

IMG_3530

 

And the party we went to! I wore my 70s red shirtdress and my new espadrilles – perfect for dancing and I didn’t want to wear anything too nice to get that sweaty in. A ton of people told me that red is my color, so that was exciting.

IMG_3521

 

And one of my only pictures from my birthday (the night before, actually). I’m not a drinker so I had one and a half and then I was done. I probably have five drinks a year and that is quite enough.

It’s taken me four days into the new year to write a new post because I’m having trouble taking pictures during the daytime! I’m not what you would call an early riser and now that the sun goes down at four fucking thirty in the afternoon, I have precious few daylight hours. So please forgive me that all my photos are taken in the dark, as I didn’t get ready for my evening until it was dark out.

IMG_3532

 

When I got ready last night I realized I had a pretty “severe” look – pulled-back hair, buttoned up shirt, strong brows, strong eyeliner, bold lips. But I really like a severe look on myself, it’s a bit more fun to me than looking soft and feminine (which is also fun sometimes. I’m indecisive).

IMG_3533

 

IMG_3535

 

I think it’s funny you can see my iPhone in this picture. The hair was very easy and took about ten minutes. I made a strong side part and brushed out my pincurls. Started twisting from the front of my hair, adding hair as I went and trying to keep it tight but not close to my head – twists can be very subtle and I wanted this to be a stronger look. I inserted bobby pins along the length horizontally – you open it up and hold it perpendicular to your scalp, push back a bit, and then push forward.

IMG_3540

 

I then twisted my hair at the back so I’d be able to form it into a perfect bun, then pinned it to my head with bobby pins all around (try and get hair on your scalp and hair in the bun).

IMG_3542

 

I have an antique pocket watch my grandma gave me – I’ve never worn it before and keep it in a box for safekeeping but I realized I really wanted to be able to wear it and enjoy it. I’m going to take it to a watch repair shop today to have it cleaned.

IMG_3541

 

I love cat-eye liner on myself. I also applied my lipstick with a brush, which makes it stay on longer. And when I was doing Today Is History, my makeup artist did my eyebrows with brown shadow first and then black on top. It was such a strong look (and kind of made me more “ethnic” looking – all of a sudden everyone was asking me if I was Italian) so I’ve been doing it on myself. My natural hair color is pretty close to black anyhow. All in all, it was a look I really liked. The only thing I’d change if I could is I was wearing my flowery jeans and I’d really like to have a pair of more classic jeans (like Freddie’s – ugh I might have to splurge and buy some).

I hope you all had a wonderful New Year’s and I’ll send you off with a few pictures of myself with my siblings and our donkey, Luke.

IMG_3514

 

IMG_3523

 

IMG_3519

 

IMG_3520

5 thoughts on “New Years and Some Serious Hair

  1. I too like a more severe hairstyle sometimes. It doesn’t work on everyone, but looks incredibly lovely (and sophisticated) on you. It’s redolent in a way of some looks in 80s, while at the same time channeling both an Edwardian and a 40s vibe.

    Thank you deeply for your understanding, touching comment on my post about hair loss. None of us are perfect at all, but that’s totally okay. So long as our imperfections, flaws, etc don’t hurt us or others, they’re not really shortcomings, but simply unique-nesses that help mold us into the wonderful, diverse beings that we are. There are somethings that I’ll likely never talk about publicly, but there are plenty that I will, and my hair loss story is certainly one of them. I truly appreciate everything you said and want you to know that your last line in particular will resonate in my mind for a long time to come.

    ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

