I Got a Haircut! Eek!

I got a haircut! I’d been frustrated by my bangs and I wanted them thicker and get a trim. When I got to the hairdresser, she said my ends were damaged and she needed to cut them off. My hair grows pretty quickly, so I wasn’t that worried about cutting it shorter than I wanted because it’ll grow back.

I told her I wanted Louise Brooks bangs:

louisebrooks9ij

 

And the shape of Rita Hayworth’s haircut, with the U-shape in the back.

 

220px-Rita_Hayworth-publicity

 

It might be a weird combination, but I love having thick, blunt bangs and feel very myself with them. They’re not very forties (my preferred aesthetic) but I figure that I always style myself how I want, even if it doesn’t go along with current fashions, so if I lived in the 40s I’m pretty sure I’d have been the same way.

So I went from this:

IMG_3479

 

IMG_3505

 

To this:

IMG_3547

 

This is the shortest my hair has ever been since it grew out originally. Eek.

IMG_3559

 

It looks pretty short in the front. (P.S. I took these pictures before putting my lipstick on and I can’t stop thinking how weird I look without it)

IMG_3560

 

But I guess when I see it from the back it really isn’t all that short.

IMG_3561

 

And I can’t stop getting compliments over it. It’s definitely easier to brush (and I’m going to start taking better care of my hair – putting anti-breakage serum on the ends, brushing more carefully) and really bouncy and fun.

IMG_3555

 

It’ll take some getting used to. Ideally I think I’d like it to be a couple inches longer, but I’m sure if I give it a few months it’ll get there. I am looking forward to trying new setting patterns and hairstyles and seeing just what this new shorter cut can do. I’LL KEEP YA POSTED.

One thought on “I Got a Haircut! Eek!

Leave a Reply

