Improv, Vintage Style

Improv is the passion of my life right now – I don’t think I’ve gone two days without seeing or being in a show since I started two years ago unless I was out of town. But vintage dressing and improv don’t necessarily go hand-in-hand. In general, you’re not supposed to wear dresses and skirts while you do improv. You’re supposed to be free to do anything – lay on the ground, turn a cartwheel, act like a dog. Improv is also male-dominated, so it can be tempting to try and dress like a guy to fit in and be taken seriously. That’s definitely what I used to do:

DSCN2490

But now, I do improv pretty much every day. This week I have seven shows in six days. I don’t want to dress like a boy all the time. And you know what? Most of the time I don’t turn a cartwheel or act like a dog. You can still make choices you’re comfortable with, regardless of the situation. Although I’ve still had to fall down on the ground a few times but that just comes with the territory.

I had a couple shows last week that took pictures, so I thought I’d show you some pictures of me doing improv in pretty vintage outfits!

73585_241776222623395_1520682248_n

This is my most improv-friendly vintage outfit. 70’s jeans, 70’s shirt (from my mom’s elementary school), and a beret to give it flavor.

tumblr_mhf6owRFJD1rva0qqo1_400

Here’s me wearing my new pink 60’s matching suit and shirt with my 50s sweater over it. Flyyy.

325158_290788694377316_834631738_o

This is that amazing brown dress I keep posting grainy pictures of. Isn’t it THE MOST DIVINE?

798311_290788584377327_2075071827_o798366_290788517710667_1393640082_o

I guess you can do improv in pincurls, a 40’s dress, stockings, and two-inch heels. Because even though I take part in probably the most casual art form, I can’t stop being my fancy self.

3 thoughts on “Improv, Vintage Style

  1. That dress is fabulous! Keep on being yourself – you’re FABULOUS!

    ps – my daughters totally cartwheel in dresses forgetting they are flashing their knickers to the world, my skirts fly up and show my knickers to the world and I have fallen and landed with my skirt literally over my head – again flashing my knickers to the world. I don’t think wearing a dress in improv is a bad thing, I think it would give you opportunities to be different. (says the girl who would definitely rather walk starkers down the street than do improv)

  2. That dress is fabulous! Keep on being yourself – you’re FABULOUS!

    ps – my daughters totally cartwheel in dresses forgetting they are flashing their knickers to the world, my skirts fly up and show my knickers to the world and I have fallen and landed with my skirt literally over my head – again flashing my knickers to the world. I don’t think wearing a dress in improv is a bad thing, I think it would give you opportunities to be different. (says the girl who would definitely rather walk starkers down the street than do improv)

    pps – do I get bonus comment points for saying knickers a million times?

Leave a Reply

