Outfit Post: Sophisticated Purple and Jade

Today I get to show you one of the dresses I had made in China! I had one other dress and a couple made that I’ll try and remember to take photos of soon. I showed the tailors this photo:

400px-Mccall3543

 

And here’s how it turned out:

IMG_4765

 

IMG_4768

 

I had to add the belt because the dress looked pretty undefined without it – they didn’t get the hip right at all and really underdid the ruching in the bust (and I think didn’t measure my bust right, as it pretty much has the effect of erasing the ruching almost altogether). That said, I think it’s still a pretty dress and it will be good for the times when I want to dress vintage without endangering one of my actual vintage dresses.

IMG_4757

 

I tried to take a picture where you could actually see the bodice better but I feel like my iPhone was not cooperating.

IMG_4769

 

IMG_4768

 

IMG_4759

 

I was also wearing some new Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner I got and jade earrings I bought in China. I love them.

IMG_4760

 

And my cute barrette!

IMG_4764

 

And a friend of mine put up a picture on Instagram from an improv show I did. It’s funny, I think you can kind of tell how much curlier my hair gets through the day if I’m not brushing it every 20 minutes.

All in all, getting clothes made was a mixed experience. I think I wouldn’t get a dress made again because it’s easy enough to find great dresses without spending a lot of money (although repro is expensive, pretty much as a rule). I’ll check back in with the other dress and the blouses soon and let you know what I thought of those!

Leave a Reply

