Casual Vintage for a Cold Indiana Day

20131205-094439.jpg

I went and visited family in Indiana and felt COLD weather for the first time in a while! Luckily this casual 40s/50s winter outfit kept me pretty warm. I like this outfit because it feels like just the sort of thing a girl in the 40s or 50s would have worn when hanging out with her family in the cold months – it’s casual, conservative, not too fashion-forward but cute, warm, and comfortable.

Sweater – modern, my mom’s

Skirt – 50s, Jet Rag

Stockings and wool socks!

Boots – Target

20131205-094501.jpg

I love these boots. They have lace on the sides (which I really should have taken a picture of) and give me an early 1900s feel.

20131205-094516.jpg

Here’s my cousin and me! Don’t worry, I asked her if I could put her picture up. 🙂

It sounds crazy, but I wore skirts and dresses the whole time I was in 20-40 degree weather and I stayed warm. Between slips, thick skirts, stockings/hose/tights and socks, you can wear more layers than you could if you just wore pants! I’ll post some more cold-weather outfits in the next few days!

Leave a Reply

